Being arrested for DUI in South Carolina may result in having your license suspended. The duration of your suspension will vary depending on the circumstances of your arrest and whether or not you hold any prior DUI or DWI convictions. Typically, a South Carolina DUI license suspension may range anywhere from 6 months to 3 years. For someone under 21, the legal limit is .02% BAC. As a minor, if you are over this limit you will automatically lose your license to drive. Once you are arrested for a DUI in South Carolina, you only have 30 days to challenge the suspension of your license. Following your arrest, it is critical that you contact us so that we can fight your license suspension before this brief period of time runs out - (843) 420-1555.
South Carolina holds penalties for any driver who REFUSES to take a breathalyzer test. Refusal to take a DUI test will not result in any additional fines or jail time. However, the state will seek to suspend your license regardless of whether or not you are over the legal limit. Once you have refused to take the test, there is a window of 10 business days during which a South Carolina DUI lawyer may file a request for a hearing on your behalf. If the request for a DUI hearing is granted, your attorney may be successful in preventing your license suspension for test refusal.
Justin Maines is the DUI attorney you need during this crucial window of time to fight the test results and protect your rights!
25 Clarks Summit Dr. Suite 102, Bluffton, SC 29910
Phone: 843-420-1555 / Fax: 912-231-1251